The Hancock County Commissioners are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Community Benefits grants:

A Scholarship Program has been implemented by the Hancock County Commissioners and designed to offer scholarships for secondary education to residents of the Hancock County Unorganized Territories. The scholarship program is open to residents of the Hancock County Unorganized Territories, including high school seniors, currently enrolled college students and adults interested in attending Maine intuitions of higher learning.

The Hancock County Commissioners will hold a public hearing on February 7, 2019 at 6 pm in the Commissioners’ meeting room at the Hancock County Courthouse regarding the adoption of a water quality protection ordinance to prohibit the construction of the East-West corridor through the Unorganized Territory of Hancock County.

Snow date is February 14, 2019 at 6 p.m.

View the Ordinance

ELLSWORTH —  The Hancock County Commissioners Dec. 4 approved the hiring of Andrew Braley of Bass Harbor to serve as deputy director of the Hancock County Emergency Management Agency (EMA).

On November 7, 2018 the Hancock County Commissioners agreed to make the Community Benefit Grant application available, and approved up to $100,000 in this grant period.

Applications can be dropped off or mailed to the County Administrator at 50 State Street, Suite 7, Ellsworth, Maine 04605 in a sealed envelope and clearly marked on the outside of the envelope COMMUNITY BENEFIT GRANT APPLICATION.  The application period will be open until 4:00 p.m. on Monday, December 31, 2018.  Applications received after December 31, 2018, in person or by mail, will not be considered.

Official Website of Hancock County, Maine.                              Copyright 2019 All rights reserved.